Upon firing up the Internet this morning, the weather box showed -9° F. Hop one box over and the German word of the day is kalt – “cold.” Very uncanny or someone’s idea of a sick joke. Touche, iGoogle.

I know, I know. You get it. Minneapolis is cold. I’m cold. And I firmly believe Verdi’s “La donna è mobile” refers to Mother Nature. But there was a saving grace – today the sun returned!

And yet Summer – even Spring – seems impossibly far away. So lunch was an ode to warmer times… or just a sinfully delicious excuse to add an extra layer of insulation to my thin frame. At first I thought about thawing a container of Winter minestrone to have with crackers and cheese, but the word winter brought yesterday’s blahs roaring back. Salad? Too cold. Sandwich? No bread. Pasta? Having that for supper. Ugh. It was one of those blank moments where you stare at the cupboard, then peak in the fridge, back to the cupboard, another look in the fridge. [Ever have that?] Annoyed and starving, I spied the über-ripe avocado on the table and remembered a recipe I bookmarked from BBC Good Food. Not for the faint of heart, but perfect for a day like today: Hot corncakes with avocado, bacon and basil.

When I think of a corncake, the Venezualan arepas come to mind – cornmeal patties traditionally boiled in water, baked in the oven or fried in oil. This recipe intrigued me because they’re more like latkes, only made with corn instead of potato. And there’s hot chillies, avocado and basil. And bacon. Sold. Very little could improve these, except perhaps frying the cakes in the rendered fat from cherrywood-smoked bacon. Which is exactly what I did.

corn cakes

And… [shameless self-promotion]… I’ve been Taste-Spotted!!

