Tremendous things from 02.05.09:

  1. The entire Queen “Greatest Hits” album followed directly by Dvorak’s “Symphony No. 9 (From the New World)” at Dunn Bros. this morning. No finer way to enjoy a latte.
  2. Plain whole milk yogurt topped with blood orange segments, Perugina dark chocolate chunks and toasted, chopped hazelnuts. I don’t get into the food holidays, but World Nutella Day? There’s a reason to celebrate. I’d wager Gianduja is more luxe, although Nutella is nothing to scoff at. Warm-from-the-oven Brötchen and Nutella for breakfast in Germany, and cooing over a Nutella and banana crêpe at le Tour Eiffel makes a lasting impression on a sixteen-year-old girl. Alas, no Nutella. Improv! A heavenly mid-afternoon pick-me-up.
  3. Anne Mendelson’s Milk. Not only do I have more desire to own goats and produce chèvre, I now want a Jersey cow for fresh milk and cream, and because they have those big, beautiful doe eyes. I want to make my own clotted cream, yogurt, buttermilk, sour cream, cream cheese, ricotta, mascarpone, farmer’s cheese, quark…
  4. Thursday Night Smackdown’s Liveblogging Top Chef. For those of us without cable, yet still obsessed and requiring our weekly Top Chef fix. Many thanks to you, Michelle. [Sidenote: Eric Ripert… SWOON.]
  5. A pizza for supper: rosemary and olive oil-roasted grape tomatoes, red onion, mozzarella and an egg atop pesto-slathered homemade flatbread. Everything is better with an egg. Yolk oozing all over the plate, to be sopped up with the crust. So indulgent. I wiped the plate clean with my finger. And licked the knife.

In a blissful state of satiety, goodnight!

