On Friday morning I passed the certification exam to become a Registered Dietitian! All it took was a six-month internship and four months of studying/fretting/stressing, but I did it – I’m official.

That evening dad, Sandy and I headed to von Rothenburg Bier Stube in Germantown for Franziskaner Weissbier [happy hour $3.50 on tap!]

p1030414

and Friday fish fry. Dad and I went straight beer-battered cod; Sandy opted for half b-b cod and a half rack of ribs.

p1030417A gem of a place. Decorated to the hilt like a German Bier Stube, or beer lounge, von Rothenburg’s is a local favorite. Out back is a beer garden, often featuring live oom-pah bands, yodelers or spoons players. Another draw is the food, which comes from the affiliated restaurant, Jerry’s Old Town, just next door.

After supper we stopped at Sendik’s to pick out a celebratory dessert. I ogled the bakery case for a few minutes and decided on a slab of tiramisu – only managing to eat a few [extremely delicious] bites before giving in to satiety from the fish and beer.

An immense sigh of relief to have finished the exam; especially since the day after I was flying south once more to Pensacola! What a poor companion I would have been for the two-week visit had I not passed…

Thanks to all for the help studying, well-wishes and thoughts for my exam. I owe much of my success to you!

Off to enjoy Florida…

