What?!!

You knew at some point I’d talk about us baking bread. Because really, we cannot live without bread, and probably could* live on bread alone. With all that smoked salmon in the fridge, bagels seemed like the logical choice.

I’ve had this recipe from Smitten Kitchen tucked in my files for ages. [No, I don’t travel with my entire collection of recipes – I remembered it was on Deb’s blog.] We made a half batch of dough mid-morning and had hot, fresh bagels less than two hours later.

The roasting pan water bath over two burners was genius! Increased surface area + decreased depth of water = quicker boiling time + higher number of bagels cooking at one time. Dating an engineer comes in handy now and again!

p10304611
Two everything, one plain, one cinnamon sugar, two Christmas jalapeño cheddar.

P1030463

As you can plainly see, these are no dainty bagels [which I must admit, I prefer] – these suckers were enormous.

p1030465Did I mention they were big? I struggled to eat the whole thing, but it was too good to put down. The bagels chewy and flavorful, the salmon tender and smoky – chopped scallions, dill and a slather of velvety, rich cream cheese the perfect mellow complements.

Be generous with that slather!

To continue with the “we love bread” theme, supper utilized the last third of yesterday’s baguette. Another recipe I’d been sitting on was this one from Jamie Oliver: grilled marinated mozzarella with crunchy bread, smoked bacon and a black olive and lemon dressing. For some odd reason I thought they would be more substantial, so I quartered the amounts. If you do the calculations, that gives us one each. Oops.

Avocado, tomato and leftover pesto bulgur salad to go along with our skewers and glasses of white wine turned out to be just the light supper we needed.

Yum! Or as Jamie would say, “It was bloomin’ lovely!”

p1030472

*I am aware this quote wasn’t meant to be taken literally…

