Yesterday’s weather was frightful and this morning didn’t look promising either.

DSCF0234

But for a couple hours this afternoon the weather perked up. I was able to remove myself from packing and the confines of the house just long enough for a walk. Afterward I sat outside on the patio with a glass of lemon iced tea and a thick slice of sweet and moist brown bread drizzled with honey – brown bread I whipped together in a fit of boredom on Friday.

It’s wonderful. I should channel my boredom more often!

DSCF0191

Brown Bread [makes 1 loaf]

Printable recipe

2 c whole wheat flour

1 c AP flour

2 t baking soda

1 t salt

5 T brown sugar

1/4 c unsulfured molasses

1 1/2 c buttermilk

1/2 c plain whole milk yogurt

 

Preheat oven to 350º F and grease a loaf pan.

In a large bowl sift together dry ingredients. Add the remaining ingredients and fold until just combined. Pour [very thick] batter into the prepared pan, and bake in the middle of the oven for 1 hour, or until a tester comes out clean.

Cool bread in the pan on a rack for five minutes, then turn the loaf out onto the rack to cool completely.

