It’s been ages since I’ve been to the theatre and even longer still since I’ve been to a Broadway production. My sister’s boss gave her two tickets The Wizard of Oz at the Milwaukee Theatre. Fortunately for me she already had plans, so dad and I sat in. Brilliant! Loved the Cowardly Lion/Zeke! Everything was sensational – the song and dance; the acting; the special effects and pit orchestra.

Before the show we dined in style.

In addition to vacationing in my hometown, Sandy is giving me [mostly] free reign of supper this week. Last night I chose the ingredient and dad chose the recipe. Request #1: Jumbo Sea Scallops.

DSCF0235The recipe intended was Giada’s Grilled Seafood Salad Sendik’s attempted to thwart us by not having calamari or radicchio, but we made it work without.

The grilled scallops were smoky and meaty, not at all sweet. Usually we make a fuss – a good fuss – over sweet scallops, but here it allowed the grill flavor to come through. Alsace Pinot Auxerrois and garlic-rubbed crostini were right on with this.

DSCF0237

Sandy swapped a bunch of gorgeous spinach for the arugula, tossed the warm dressing with the leaves to create a wilted salad, and also added roasted asparagus for another layer of flavor and texture. Altogether the salad was light yet hearty with the beans and scallops. I’d love to taste it with the calamari!

