My last night in Wisconsin. The car is full of gas and stuffed to the gills with all my belongings, road food is prepared, maps are at the ready. Everything is set to drive south.

To tell you the truth, I’m scared! Sure I’m moving to a much warmer locale there’s a job prospect and I couldn’t be moving in with a better guy But home is here, family is here, what I know is here.

I gave Dad his Father’s Day present early, and there’s a poignant quote from Marcel Proust written on the side of each bottle: “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” Guess I should take this to heart – have ‘new eyes’ for what lies ahead!

DSCF0235

Nothing calms my frazzled nerves better than spending time with family over a comforting meal, bottle of memorable red and an evening sweet treat

I’ve seen it before on TV and in magazines, and always has it intrigued me. For my final meal I chose butterflied, brick-grilled chicken, a la Bobby Flay. Plus we’ve been itching for chicken like we used to find at Greek Fest [before it moved to the State Fair grounds], and Bobby’s is quite similar.

DSCF0236-2

Beauty, isn’t she?! And such fun! The only tweak we made was to do one chicken and load up on lemon juice. The side dish a simple yet elegant recipe from Michael Chiarello: Potatoes Da Delphina Again, I amped up the lemon zest.

DSCF0237-1

Season’s first al fresco supper. And a memorable one at that. I cannot convey how much I will miss Wisconsin; more over how much I will miss my incredible family. At the same time, I’m unbelievably excited and happy to see what lies ahead…

