I love to look back. I’m very nostalgic. It’s one of many reasons I take so many random photos, and then log them into albums on my computer. I try to caption them all, but my intentions are often better than my actions.

This time last year my sister, her boyfriend, my mom and I attended a home Brewers-Diamondbacks game. It was a perfect sunny day for baseball. We ate sausages [Polish with onions and spicy mustard], did the wave and cheered our team to victory.

I had a hankering for cake so I whipped together Mollie Katzen’s lemony and light Ukranian poppyseed cake — a recipe I had dog-eared for years.

It was worth the wait. Then again, like old photos, I’m a sucker for lemon and poppyseeds.

Ukrainian Poppyseed Cake [makes two 8″ loaves or one deep 8″ round]

Printable recipe.

3/4 c poppyseeds

1 c milk

1 c butter [2 sticks]

1 1/3 c light brown sugar

3 eggs

1/2 t vanilla extract

2 t lemon zest

2 c all-purpose flour

3 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

Heat poppy seeds and milk together in saucepan. Remove from heat right before it boils. Cool to room temperature.

Preheat oven to 350° F.

Cream butter and sugar, add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Add vanilla and zest and mix just to incorporate.

Sift the dry ingredients together; add alternately with poppyseed-milk mixture, stirring well after each addition.

Lightly butter two 8″ loaf pans and split batter between pans; or alternately, butter one deep 8″ round pan and add all the batter. Bake 40-50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Adapted from The Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen.

